Support for ecclesial structures affected by the pandemic in mission territories

Support for ecclesial structures affected by the pandemic in mission territories

An emergency fund for Covid-19

The Holy Father has established an emergency fund at the Pontifical Mission Societies, in order to come to the aid of those people and communities who are being tragically impacted by the spread of COVID-19. 

The purpose of the fund is provide aid to support ecclesiastical structures, according to the charism of the Pontifical Mission Societies , in local Churches in the mission territories that are adversely affected by the pandemic.

The Holy Father has designated US $ 750,000 as an initial contribution for the fund and has asked that those Church entities that are able and desirous to help, to contribute to this fund through the Pontifical Mission Societies in each Country.

Interventions carried out in 41 countries - 229 among the archdioceses, dioceses, apostolic vicariates and episcopal conferences.

The Pontifical Mission Societies is the Holy Father’s official channel of support for more than 1,110 dioceses mostly in Asia, Africa, Oceania and part of the Amazon region.

Cardinal Luis Antonio G. TAGLE, Prefect of the Congregation for the Evangelization of Peoples

«In her task of evangelization, the Church is often on the front lines of major threats to human well-being. In Africa alone, there are over 74,000 religious sisters and over 46,000 priests operating 7,274 hospitals and clinics, 2,346 homes for elderly and the vulnerable, and educating over 19 million children in 45,088 primary schools. In many rural areas they are the only providers of healthcare and education. The Holy Father is calling upon the Church’s entire vast network to face the challenges ahead.»

Archbishop Giampietro DAL TOSO, President of the Pontifical Mission Societies

«This fund has the aim of supporting the presence of the Church in mission territories, which also suffers the consequences of Corona Virus. Through the Church’s activity of preaching the Gospel and of practical aid through our vast network, we can show that no one is alone in this crisis. In this sense, the Church’s institutions and ministers play a vital role. This is the Holy Father’s intention in establishing this Fund. While so many are suffering, we remember and reach out to those who may have no one to care for them, thus showing forth the love of God the Father.

I call upon our network of Pontifical Mission Societies, present in every diocese around the world, to do what they can to support this important initiative of the Holy Father.»

The Dioceses which have received support for parishes, religious communities, catechists, seminarians

img1.png img1.png
img2.png img2.png
img3.png img3.png
img4.png img4.png
img5.png img5.png
Maps-covid-EN.png Maps-covid-EN.png


Diocese of Benguela
Diocese of Cabinda
Diocese of Caxito
Diocese of Dundo
Diocese of Kwitio-Bié
Diocese of Lwena

Archdiocese of Dhaka
Diocese of Mymensingh
Diocese of Khulna
Diocese of Barishal 
Diocese of Rajshahi 
Diocese of Chattogram 
Diocese of Sylhet

Archdiocese of Cotonou

Apostolic Vicariate of Beni
Apostolic Vicariate of Camiri
Apostolic Vicariate of Ñuflo de Chavez
Apostolic Vicariate of Reyes

Burkina Faso:
Diocese of Manga
Archdiocese of Koupéla

Diocese of Bafang
Diocese of Bafia
Archdiocese of Bamenda
Diocese of Bafoussam
Diocese of Batouri
Arcidiocesi di Bertoua
Diocese of Buea
Archdiocese of Douala
Diocese of Ebolowa
Diocese of Kribi
Diocese of Kumba
Diocese of Kumbo
Diocese of Mamfe
Diocese of Maroua-Mokolo
Diocese of Ngaoundere
Diocese of  Nkongsamba
Diocese of Obala
Diocese of Sangmelina
Diocese of Yagoua
Archdiocese of Yaoundé
Diocese of Yokadouma

Diocese of Sarh
Diocese of Moundou
Diocese of Lai 
Diocese of Doba

Apostolic Vicariate of Guapí
Apostolic Vicariate of Inirida
Apostolic Vicariate of Mitú
Apostolic Vicariate of Pueto Carreño
Apostolic Vicariate of Puerto Gaitán
Apostolic Vicariate of Leguizano-Solano

Apostolic Vicariate of Napo
Apostolic Vicariate of Puyo

Contribution to the Catholic Church in Ethiopia

Diocese of Banjul

Diocese of Damongo
Diocese of Goaso
Diocese of Keta-Akatsi
Diocese of Navrongo-Bolgatanga
Apostolic Vicariate of Donkorkrom
Diocese of Wa
Diocese of Yendi

Apostolic Vicariate of Izabal
Apostolic Vicariate of Petén

Diocese of Kankan
Diocese of N’Zérékoré
Archdiocese of Conakry

Guinea Bissau:
Diocese of Bissau
Diocese of Bafata

Diocese of La Ceiba
Diocese of Trujillo



Diocese of Aizawl
Diocese of Baruipur
Diocese of Berhampur
Diocese of Bettiah
Diocese of Bungoma
Diocese of Buxar
Diocese of Calicut
Archdiocese of Cuttack-Bhubaneswar
Diocese of Daltonganj
Archdiocese of Gandhinagar
Diocese of Hazaribagh
Diocese of Jalpaiguri
Diocese of Jamshedpur
Diocese of Jhabua
Diocese of Khunti
Diocese of Kohima
Diocese of Kumbakonam
Diocese of Kuzhithurai
Diocese of Miao
Diocese of Nellore
Archdiocese of Patna
Diocese of Port Blair
Diocese of Purnea
Diocese of Raiganj
Diocese of Salem
Diocese of Shimoga
Youth Commission

Diocese of Bungoma
Diocese of Homa Bay
Apostolic Vicariate of Isiolo
Diocese of Kisii
Diocese of Kitale
Diocese of Lodwar
Diocese of Marala
Diocese of Marsabit
Archdiocese of Mombasa
Diocese of Murang'a
Archdiocese of Nairobi
Diocese of Ngong
Diocese of Nyahururu

Diocese of Leribe
Archdiocese of Maseru
Diocese of Mohale’s Hoek
Diocese of Qacha’s Nek

Diocese of Cape Palmas
Diocese of Gbarnga
Archdiocese of Monrovia

Diocese of Ambanja
Diocese of Antsirabe
Archdiocese of Antsiranana
Diocese of Farafangana
Diocese of Miarinarivo
Diocese of Moramanga
Archdiocese of Toamasina
Diocese of Tsiroanomandidy

Diocese of Dedza
Diocese of Karonga
Archdiocese of Lilongwe
Episcopal Conference of Malawi
National Catholic Television - Luntha TV

Monastery of the Poor Clares of Rabat

Archdiocese of Beira
Diocese of Pemba

Archdiocese of Yangon

Namibia :
Archdiocese of Windhoek

Diocese of Abeokuta
Diocese of Ahiara
Diocese of Auchi
Diocese of Bomadi
Diocese of Ekiti
Diocese of Idah
Diocese of Ijebu-Ode
Diocese of Ikot Ekpene
Diocese of Ilorin
Diocese of Jalingo
Archdiocese of Kaduna
Diocese of Kafanchan
Diocese of Kontagora
Diocese of Maiduguri
Diocese of Nnewi
Diocese of Ondo
Diocese of Osogbo
Diocese of Oyo
Diocese of Pankshin
Diocese of Shendam
Diocese of Sokoto
Diocese of Umuahia
Diocese of Uromi
Diocese of Yola
Catholic Institute of West Africa



Diocese of Colón Kuna Yala
Territorial Prelature Bocas del Toro

All dioceses

Apostolic Vicariate of Pucallpa
Apostolic Vicariate of Puerto Maldonado
Apostolic Vicariate of Yurimaguas

Diocese of Byumba
Diocese of Cyangugu
Diocese of Gikongoro
Diocese of Kabgayi
Diocese of Kibungo
Archdiocese of Kigali
Diocese of Nyundo
Diocese of Ruhengeri

Archdiocese of Dakar
Diocese of Kaolach
Diocese of Saint Louis
Diocese of Tambacounda
Diocese of Thies
Diocese of Ziguinchor

Sierra Leone:
Diocese of Bo
Archdiocese of Freetown
Diocese of Kenema
Diocese of Makeni

South Africa:
Diocese of Bethetlem
Diocese of Francistown
Diocese of Klerksdorp
Diocese of Kokstad
Diocese of Kroonstad
Diocese of Mthatha
Diocese of Queenstown
Diocese of Port Elisabeth
Diocese of Tzaneen
Diocese of Umkimkulu

South Sudan:
Archdiocese of Juba

Diocese of El Obeid
Archdiocese of Khartoum

Timor Leste:
Archdiocese of Dili

Diocese of Kpalimé
Diocese of Kara
Diocese of Aneho
Diocese of Atakpamé
Diocese of Dapaong
Diocese of Sokodé
Archdiocese of Lomé

Apostolic Vicariate of Puerto Ayacucho

Diocese of Soroti

Diocese of Chipata
Diocese of Kabwe
Archdiocese of Kasama
Diocese of Mansa
Diocese of Monze
Diocese of Solwezi

Diocese of Gokwe
Diocese of Hwange